Canada’s men’s sevens team begins World Rugby Sevens repechage with victory over Uganda — Rugby Canada

Canada’s men’s sevens team begins World Rugby Sevens repechage with victory over Uganda — Rugby Canada
Canada’s men’s sevens team begins World Rugby Sevens repechage with victory over Uganda — Rugby Canada

On Friday, June 21, in Monaco, Canada’s men’s sevens team began the World Rugby Sevens repechage with a 31-12 victory over Uganda.

On Friday, June 21, in Monaco, Canada’s men’s sevens team began the World Rugby Sevens repechage with a 31-12 victory over Uganda.

While Uganda scored in the opening minute, Ethan Hager answered for Canada following a scrum. The try was not converted and Canada trailed 7-5, but Matthew Oworu quickly gave Canada the lead a minute later, and Cooper Coats converted the try to put his team up 12 at 7.

Captain Phil Berna added a try following a throw-in, converted by Coats, and a pass from Thomas Isherwood to Oworu allowed the latter to score his second try of the match in the final minute of the first half. A third conversion from Coats gave Canada a 26-7 lead at the break.

Coats also scored a try in the ninth minute. Uganda responded in the 13th minute, but Canada ultimately won 31-12.

Canada’s men’s sevens team will continue their pool play on Saturday, June 22, taking on China at 3:04 a.m. PST / 6:04 a.m. EST and Great Britain at 8:32 a.m. PST / 11:32 a.m. EST. The quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will take place on June 23. The winner of the final will secure the only remaining place for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. You can watch all the matches live on RugbyPass TV.

MORE INFORMATION

You can find more information about the World Rugby Sevens Draft, including schedule and results, on the World Rugby website here.


#Canada

-

-

PREV With Hsabati, Saad Kemmou optimizes business management in Morocco
NEXT Transfer window. Alpha Touré, Generation Foot midfielder, signs with FC Metz