Very important announcement from CAF

Very important announcement from CAF
Very important announcement from CAF

Algeria Foot – CAF has made a crucial announcement, which notably concerns the Algerian national team, and which is linked to the CAN 2025 in Morocco.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) today, Tuesday, July 2, 2024, revealed the long-awaited date of the draw for the qualifications for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON). This major football event will be held in the Kingdom of Morocco, marking the 35th edition of the AFCON, scheduled from December 21, 2025 to January 18, 2026.

The decision to postpone the competition, originally scheduled for June and July next year, was taken by FIFA due to various logistical and climatic factors. The postponement left African football fans in limbo, but the new date finally brings clarity and excitement.

CAF has set Thursday, July 4, 2024 as the date for the draw for the 2025 AFCON qualifiers. The draw will mark the official start of preparations for the competition, with qualifying matches starting in September 2024. A total of 23 teams will join hosts Morocco to compete for the continental title.

Qualification Draw Levels

The CAF Competitions Committee has divided the participating teams into four tiers based on their recent performances and international ranking. This division aims to ensure a competitive balance during the qualifying phases.

In the Level 1we find top teams like Morocco, Egypt, Senegal, Algeria, Tunisia, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Cameroon, Mali, South Africa, Ghana and the Democratic Republic of Congo. These teams, due to their recent good results, are positioned as the favorites for qualification.

The Level 2 includes promising teams such as Uganda, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Guinea, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Zambia, Benin, Angola, Namibia, Madagascar and Mozambique. These teams will be looking to make their way to the final phase.

The Level 3 includes Libya, Sudan, Mauritania, Kenya, Congo, Tanzania, Guinea-Bissau, Comoros, Togo, Sierra Leone, Malawi and the Central African Republic. Although less favourites, these teams have the potential to create surprises.

Finally, the Level 4 includes South Sudan, Niger, Zambia, Rwanda, Gambia, Burundi, Liberia, Ethiopia, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini and Chad. These teams will have to overcome big challenges if they hope to qualify.

Read also:

Franco-Algerian players in the Algerian team: Walid Sadi made a strange decision



PREV a day of celebration on July 14th
NEXT To lower electricity prices, the next government will have to change the rules