Léonor de Récondo receives the Aznavour Prize

Léonor de Récondo receives the Aznavour Prize
Léonor de Récondo receives the Aznavour Prize

The second edition of the Aznavour Prize rewarded Léonor de Récondo for his novel The Great Firepublished by Grasset at the start of the 2023 school year.

“II am a musician and yet this is the first time that I have tackled music head-on in one of my novels. I am therefore all the more touched to receive a prize under the name of Charles Aznavour. We all do the same thing… we want to move, to touch. In Venice, people were whistling the tunes of Vivaldi in the street, who is one of the characters in my books. They tell what it’s like to be loved, happy, left, like Aznavour », explains the novelist reached by telephone by Weekly Books.

An impossible, adolescent and incandescent romance novel »

Already rewarded at the beginning of the month by the Deauville Books and Music Prize, Léonor de Récondo has also been a violinist since the age of 5, and notes: “ The early music that I play leaves a lot of room for improvisation, like jazz or pop. And for me literature is like music: we want to move! My novel takes place in the 16the century, but people experienced the same things as us: love, friendship, death… I wanted to take the reader into an impossible, adolescent, incandescent romance novel, in the vein of Romeo and Juliet or Tristan and Isolde. »

It was in 2010 that Léonor de Récondo published The Grace of the White Cypress (The weather). She stood out five years later with Loves (Sabine Wespieser, 2015) booksellers’ prize and RTL-Lire grand prize, while Cardinal point (Sabine Wespieser, 2017) was awarded the France Culture student novel prize.Telerama.

100 years of Charles Aznavour

The Aznavour Literary Prize for Words of Love “ celebrates love in contemporary literature and aims to give a representation of the spectrum of love in the 21ste century, through the expression of its new codes “, according to Mischa Aznavourits founder, who chairs the jury made up ofÉlisabeth Moreno, Charlotte Gallimard, Daniela Lumbroso, Pascal Nègre, Jacques Braunstein, Gérard Davoust, Jacques Terzian And Perrine Tripier including the novel The precious wars (Gallimard) won the first edition. The Prize is worth 5,000 euros and is awarded to the Hôtel Particulier in the 18e district of Paris. “ After the award ceremony, we will celebrate the birthday of Charles Aznavour, who would have been 100 years old on May 22. » adds the creator of the Prize.

-

-

PREV Greenhouse gases decline in Sweden, but concerns persist
NEXT at what time and on which channel to watch the fight?