With this update, Google Photos gets a little closer to a social network

With this update, Google Photos gets a little closer to a social network
With this update, Google Photos gets a little closer to a social network

Google Photos could soon display a real notification feed in a future update, in order to display the likes and comments of your shared albums.

Google Photos is one of the most used Google applications on Android and it improves month after month to cope with its users’ ever-growing photo and video libraries. Recently, the application offered new features to better manage the space reserved for its photos, particularly from third-party manufacturers like Xiaomi and OnePlus.

But this is not the only priority of Google which will visibly significantly overhaul its “Sharing” page to bring the application closer to a social network, or almost.

A notification feed in Google Photos

The update was spotted by AssembleDebug on the site Android Authoritywhich reports a change of icon for the sharing menu (next to your Google profile photo), it becoming a notification bell.

Until now, the Sharing page only allowed you to create a shared album, view those already created, or access conversations between members of a shared album. In this new version, you access a “Sharing Activity” page which will show you a real stream of notifications.

YouTube link Subscribe to Frandroid

This content is blocked because you have not accepted cookies and other trackers. This content is provided by YouTube.
To be able to view it, you must accept the use carried out by YouTube with your data which may be used for the following purposes: allowing you to view and share content with social media, promoting the development and improvement of products from Humanoid and its partners, display personalized advertisements to you based on your profile and activity, define a personalized advertising profile, measure the performance of advertisements and content on this site and measure the audience of this site (find out more more)

I accept everything

Manage my choices

You will be able to see the different interactions on your shared albums (likes, comments), but also new photos are added or a new user joins one of them. The old page remains accessible by clicking on the menu icon at the top right.

Google would therefore like to make Google Photos more than a simple photo management tool, but a real center for sharing and interactions between Android users. The shared album features are very handy, but perhaps underutilized.


-

-

PREV The Google Pixel 7a more attractive than ever thanks to this new offer
NEXT Apple will change everything about the iPhone, the summary of the Apple keynote