Remco Evenepoel wins time trial and closes in on Tadej Pogacar

Remco Evenepoel wins time trial and closes in on Tadej Pogacar
Remco Evenepoel wins time trial and closes in on Tadej Pogacar

The Belgian, who is extremely powerful, won the timed race between Nuits-Saint-Georges and Gevrey-Chambertin on Friday. He took back a few seconds on the yellow jersey.

Overpowering. Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-Quick Step), announced as the big favorite, won this Friday the time trial of the 7e stage of the Tour de France, between Nuits-Saint-Georges and Gevrey-Chambertin (25.3 km). The Belgian, who opted for a 62-tooth chainring, took the lead at each intermediate stage. Although he lost time on the downhill section – one of his weak points – the time trial world champion took advantage of the final kilometres to gain a few seconds on his opponents, despite a small derailleur problem. The leader of the Soudal-Quick Step finally beat the yellow jersey Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) by 12 seconds and Primoz Roglic (Red Bull-BORA-hansgrohe) by 34 seconds. Jonas Vingegaard (Team Visma | Lease a Bike), winner of the 2023 Grande Boucle and author of an exceptional time trial between Passy Combloux last year, conceded 37 seconds; an honourable performance for the Dane, who has not raced since last April and his (serious) fall on the Tour of the Basque Country.I’m super happy, I was having a good day. I enjoyed every meter of this time trial.” said the winner of the day.

Read alsoTour de France: Evenepoel’s fright in video, convinced he had a flat tire just before the finish

Remco Evenepoel’s rap by Tadej Pogacar, Jonas Vingegaard’s portrait

In the general classification, Tadej Pogacar keeps his yellow jersey. But Remco Evenepoel has made up time; the Belgian is now only 33 seconds behind the double winner of the Tour de France. Jonas Vingegaard, for his part, is losing more time on his great rival. He is now 1 minute and 15 seconds behind the Slovenian. Primoz Roglic took advantage of the 25.3 kilometers to move up to 4e place, occupied before this 7e stage by the young Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates). No changes are to be reported in the other rankings.

Read alsoRichard Virenque: “The Tour de France changed the rules to block me”

Before the departure of the favorites, it is Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Dstny, 5e of the stage) who occupied the leader’s seat for a long time, just ahead of the astonishing Kévin Vauquelin (Arkéa-B&B Hotels, 6e of the stage), who had already distinguished himself on this Tour de France by winning, in style, the 2e stage in the streets of Bologna. French time trial champion Bruno Armirail (Decathlon-AG2R La Mondiale), who was hoping to finish in the top ten, could do no better than a (disappointing) 22e place.

The stage ranking:

1. Remco Evenepoel (BEL) Soudal – Quick-Step 28:52
2. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates +12
3. Primož Roglic (SLO) Red Bull – BORA – +34 hansgrohe
4. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN) Team Visma – Lease a Bike +37
5. Victor Campenaerts (BEL) Lotto – Dstny +52
6. Kevin Vauquelin (FRA) Arkéa – B&B Hotels
7. Matteo Jorgenson (USA) Team Visma – Lease a Bike +54
8. João Almeida (POR) UAE Team Emirates +57
9. Ben Healy (IRL) EF Education – EasyPost +59
10. Stefan Küng (SUI) Groupama – FDJ +1:00

The general classification:

1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates 27:16:23
2. Remco Evenepoel (BEL) Soudal – Quick-Step +33
3. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN) Team Visma – Lease a Bike +1:15
4. Primož Roglic (SLO) Red Bull – BORA – +1:36 hansgrohe
5. Juan Ayuso (ESP) UAE Team Emirates +2:16
6. Joao Almeida (POR) UAE Team Emirates +2:17
7. Carlos Rodriguez (ESP) INEOS Grenadiers +2:31
8. Mikel Landa (ESP) Soudal – Quick-Step +3:35
9. Matteo Jorgenson (USA) Team Visma – Lease a Bike +4:03
10. Aleksandr Vlasov () Red Bull – BORA – hansgrohe +4:36




PREV Euro 2024 | Spain beats France 2-1 to qualify for the final
NEXT “I feel ready”: facing Zizou at Wimbledon, Arthur Cazaux is looking for a new lease of life in his season