28 of the 32 teams are confirmed

28 of the 32 teams are confirmed
28 of the 32 teams are confirmed

Last December, FIFA announced a new format for the Club World Cup which will begin in 2025. To date, we know the names of 28 of the 32 participants.

The news caused a stir. FIFA will organize the new version of the Club World Cup from next year. An expanded format, with more teams, more matches, and therefore more revenue generated, to the detriment of the health of the players who see their calendar expand each year.

In 2025, 32 teams, divided into 8 groups of 4, will be pitted against each other, with round of 16 matches, quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final. This tournament will be played every 4 years and the big premiere is expected in the summer of 2025, from June 15 to July 13, more precisely.

As for the participants, since yesterday we have known the names of 28 of the 32 participants. Al Ain’s victory over Yokohama in the final of the Asian Champions League qualified it for this new “Super World” which will take place next year in the United States. With Hernan Crespo’s team, 28 teams have been confirmed. There are therefore four teams left to be announced.

All the European teams are already known, notably the Spanish teams, Real Madrid and Atlético, since FC Barcelona was not selected. They will be joined by Chelsea and City in England, Inter and Juve in Italy, Bayern and Dortmund in Germany, PSG in France, Porto and Benfica in Portugal and Salzburg in Austria.

There are still four places to be taken in several confederations. River Plate were the last to win in CONMEBOL and Boca Juniors could be next, depending on the standings. The last CONCACAF qualifier will be known next week during the Champions League final between Pachuca and Columbus.

It is also not known which team FIFA will designate as host of the United States, but it could well be Messi’s Inter Miami, a club which is also very interested in a Real Madrid player, the defender Nacho.

Qualified clubs

Champions League Champion 2020-21 Chelsea
Champions League Champion 2021-22 real Madrid
Champions League Champions 2022-23 Manchester City
1st team according to UEFA ranking Bayern
2nd team in the UEFA rankings PSG
3rd team in the UEFA rankings Dortmund
4th team in the UEFA rankings Inter
5th team in the UEFA rankings Port
6th team in the UEFA rankings Atletico Madrid
7th team in the UEFA rankings Benfica
8th team in the UEFA rankings Juventus
9th team in the UEFA rankings RB Salzburg
African Champion of the LDC 2021 and 2023 Al Ahly
2022 LDC African Champion Wydad Casablanca
1st team in the CAF ranking Hope of Tunis
2nd team in the CAF ranking Mamelodi Sundowns
2021 Copa Libertadores Champion Palmeras
2022 Copa Libertadores Champion Flamengo
2023 Copa Libertadores Champion Fluminense
2024 Copa Libertadores Champion
1st team by CONMEBOL ranking River Plate
2nd team by CONMEBOL ranking
2021 Asian CL Champion Al Hilal
Champion of Asian Champions 2022 Urawa Red Diamonds
2024 Asian CL Champion Al Ain
1st team by AFC ranking Ulsan Hyundai
CONCACAF Champions Champion 2021 Monterrey
CONCACAF Champions Champion 2022 Seattle Welders
CONCACAF Champions Champion 2023 Leon
CONCACAF Champions Champion 2024
Champion of Champions of Oceania with the best ranking OFC Auckland City
Host country team To be determined


PREV 111 million euros to find this summer… Which players can sell to solve their puzzle?
NEXT Cycling. Critérium du Dauphiné – Primoz Roglic already down on the 3rd stage