Rick Tocchet wins the Jack Adams Trophy

Rick Tocchet wins the Jack Adams Trophy
Rick Tocchet wins the Jack Adams Trophy

Rick Tocchet was awarded the Jack Adams Trophy on Wednesday. This honor is awarded annually to the best coach in the NHL, following a vote conducted by the Association of National Television Broadcasters.

In his first full season as coach of the Vancouver Canucks, Tocchet led his team to the Pacific Division title, a first division title in 10 years for the Western Canadian team. The Canucks also had 12 wins and 26 more points than in 2022-23, while finishing sixth in goals scored per game (3.40) and tied for fifth in goals allowed per game ( 2.70). The penalty kill performance also greatly improved compared to last season (71.6 percent; 32nd in the NHL), while Vancouver finished the campaign tied for 17th in the circuit (79.1 percent).

“It’s honestly a trophy that rewards the organization in my opinion,” said Tocchet after being named a finalist on May 3. It comes down to the GM, the owners, the assistant coaches and the players, making the coach just one piece of the puzzle. So I think it’s a trophy that is awarded to the organization. I had the support of a large group. That’s how I see things. »

The Canucks were eliminated in the second round of the Western Conference when they were beaten 3-2 by the Edmonton Oilers at Rogers Arena in Game 7 on Monday.

A finalist for this trophy for the first time, Tocchet became the third Canucks coach to win this trophy, and the first since Alain Vigneault in 2006-07. Pat Quinn also won it in 1991-92.

Andrew Brunette of the Nashville Predators and Rick Bowness of the Winnipeg Jets were the other finalists. Bruins coach Jim Montgomery earned the honor last season.

The Jack Adams is the fourth trophy to have been awarded during the playoffs. The Florida Panthers forward got his hands on the Selke Trophy, awarded to the best defensive forward in the NHL, on May 18.

Two more trophies will be presented in May, and nine more in June, including five at the NHL Awards Ceremony at the Fontainebleau in Las Vegas on June 27 (7 p.m. ET; SN, ESPN).

The winners will be announced by the NHL’s national broadcasters, TVA Sports, Sportsnet and ESPN, during the pre-game shows of the playoffs, during the Trophy Presentation Ceremony and at the 2024 draft, which will take place in Las Vegas on June 28.

The announcement schedule, which may change, is as follows:

Tuesday May 28: King Clancy Trophy
Awarded to the player who demonstrates outstanding leadership both on and off the ice and who is exceptionally involved in his community
A finalist per team (see here)

Thursday May 30: Lady Byng Trophy
Awarded to the NHL player who demonstrated the best sportsmanship, while delivering remarkable performances
Finalists: Auston Matthews (TOR), Elias Pettersson (VAN), Jaccob Slavin (CAR)

Monday June 10: Jim Gregory Trophy for general manager of the year
Awarded to the best GM in the NHL
Finalists will be announced during the week of May 20

Thursday June 13: Willie O’Ree Community Award presented by Hyundai (Canada)
Given to an individual who has made a positive impact in their community, culture or society through hockey
Finalists: Mark Burgin (Vancouver), Mark DeMontis (Toronto), Allen Hierlihy (Hamilton)

Thursday June 27: Calder Trophy
Awarded to Rookie of the Year
Finalists: Connor Bedard (CHI), Brock Faber (MIN), Luke Hughes (NJD)

Thursday June 27: Hart Trophy
Awarded to the player most useful to his team
Finalists: Nikita Kucherov (TBL), Nathan MacKinnon (COL), Connor McDavid (EDM)

Thursday June 27: Norris Trophy
Awarded to the best defender
Finalists: Quinn Hughes (VAN), Roman Josi (NSH), Cale Makar (COL)

Thursday June 27: Ted-Lindsay Trophy
Awarded to the best player in the NHL according to his peers
Finalists: Nikita Kucherov (TBL), Nathan MacKinnon (COL), Auston Matthews (TOR)

Thursday June 27: Vezina Trophy
Awarded to the best goaltender in the NHL
Finalists: Sergei Bobrovsky (FLA), Thatcher Demko (VAN), Connor Hellebuyck (WPG)

Friday June 28: Willie O’Ree Community Award presented by Discover (United States)
Finalists: Jerry DeVaul (Colorado Springs, Colo.); Kelsey McGuire (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania); Estela Rivas-Bryant (El Segundo, California)

Friday June 28: EJ McGuire Excellence Award
Awarded to the prospect who best exemplifies commitment to excellence, character, competitiveness and athletic ability

*With contributions from NHL.com journalists David Satriano and Tom Gulitti



PREV WSBK, Andrea Iannone has no doubts: “for Ducati I think I am special”
NEXT Florida wins its first Stanley Cup – rts.ch