Euro 2024 – Germany list: Nagelsmann summoned Kroos but not Hummels

Euro 2024 – Germany list: Nagelsmann summoned Kroos but not Hummels
Euro 2024 – Germany list: Nagelsmann summoned Kroos but not Hummels

Germany coach Julian Nagelsmann has named a group of 27 players to prepare for Euro 2024 (June 14-July 14) at home, which includes Toni Kroos or captain Ilkay Gündogan, but not Mats Hummels or Julian Brandt.

At the end of the preparation matches against Ukraine on June 4 in Nuremberg and Greece on June 7 in Mönchengladbach, Julian Nagelsmann will have to give a list of maximum 26 players to UEFA (deadline June 7 at midnight). Germany begins “its” European Championship on June 14 in Munich against Scotland, before facing Hungary on June 19 in Stuttgart and Switzerland on June 23 in Frankfurt.

The entire list was presented at the beginning of the afternoon during a press conference in Berlin, but 18 names had already been announced between Sunday evening (Nico Schlotterbeck the first) and Wednesday evening (Florian Wirtz the last) , via the media, social networks, or displays in public spaces. Among the nine names that had not yet been revealed are Real Madrid midfielders Toni Kroos and Bayern Jamal Musiala, as well as FC Barcelona goalkeepers Marc-André ter Stegen and Stuttgart goalkeepers Alexander Nübel.

The selection of Mannschaft captain Ilkay Gündogan was revealed on advertising boards at Alexanderplatz, one of the famous squares in the Berlin capital. “We are not going to change ten or five players. Maybe one or two, if no one gets hurt“, coach Julian Nagelsmann announced at the end of March, after an international window during which he made strong choices, leaving several executives at home including Leon Goretzka and Mats Hummels.

Motta’s Bologna will see the C1: deciphering a sensational season

The long-term European adventures of Bayern Munich and especially Borussia Dortmund have not moved Nagelsmann from his line. Thus, Hummels, Julian Brandt or even Karim Adeyemi, architects of Dortmund’s journey to the C1 final on June 1 against Real Madrid, will not play in Euro 2024. Only one BVB player, defender Nico Schlotterbeck, integrates the list with respect to March.

Likewise, Goretzka, who had lost his starting place at Bayern for the semi-return of C1 in Madrid (2-1 defeat and elimination) in favor of Aleksandar Pavlovic, must give way to this hope (20 years old on May 3 ) for the Euro.

Germany’s list of 27

Goalkeepers : Oliver Baumann (Hoffenheim), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Alexander Nübel (Stuttgart), Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Defenders : Waldemar Anton (Stuttgart), Benjamin Henrichs (RB Leipzig), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Robin Koch (Eintracht Frankfurt), Maximilian Mittelstädt (Stuttgart), David Raum (RB Leipzig), Antonio Rüdiger (Real Madrid), Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)

Midfielders : Robert Andrich (Bayer Leverkusen), Chris Führich (Stuttgart), Pascal Gross (Brighton), Ilkay Gündogan (Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Aleksandar Pavlovic (Bayern Munich), Florian Wirtz ( Bayer Leverkusen)

Attackers : Maximilian Beier (Hoffenheim), Niclas Füllkrug (Borussia Dortmund), Kai Havertz (Arsenal), Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich), Leroy Sané (Bayern Munich), Deniz Undav (Stuttgart)



PREV TDF. Tour de France – Wout Van Aert will soon join Vingegaard in Tignes
NEXT Top 14 – Montpellier in the middle of a storm, Bernard Laporte towards the presidency