Laver Cup: Yannick Noah captain of the Europe team from 2025

Laver Cup: Yannick Noah captain of the Europe team from 2025
Laver Cup: Yannick Noah captain of the Europe team from 2025

Yannick Noah will replace the Swede Björn Borg as captain of the European Laver Cup team from 2025, the competition created by Roger Federer pitting each year a selection of European players against another of players from the rest of the world, the organizers announced Tuesday.

Yannick Noah (here at Roland-Garros in 2023) will become captain of the Europe team at the Laver Cup.


Noah, former world number 3 in tennis and the last French winner of Roland-Garros (1983), won the Davis Cup three times with France as captain, notably in 1991 when the Blues led by Henri Leconte and Guy Forget beat in the final the United States of Pete Sampras and Andre Agassi.

The captain of the American Davis Cup team was then John McEnroe, who himself will be replaced at the head of the World Laver Cup team from 2025 by Agassi.

“I am very honored to have been asked to captain the Laver Cup Europe team,” Noah said in the organization’s press release. “It’s been a while since I’ve been in the game, making my music, but I’m very happy with this new adventure.”

“I love team competitions, the emotions they create, getting to know the guys, what they are like, as people on and off the court,” he continues.

“Nice to see Andre again”

“I’m also looking forward to seeing Andre (Agassi) again, 20 years after having had him as an opponent. I may have softened a little, but the competitive spirit will live on in me forever. I want Team Europe to win!” concludes Noah, who will be captain of the French wheelchair tennis players at the Paris Paralympic Games this summer.

McEnroe and Borg have been captains in the Laver Cup since the creation of the competition in 2017, under the leadership of Roger Federer. The 2024 edition, the last for Borg and McEnroe, is scheduled for September 20-22 in Berlin. The 2025 edition will take place in San Francisco (California).



PREV Verstappen resists Norris, Hamilton returns to the podium
NEXT Spanish Grand Prix | Max Verstappen ahead of Lando Norris, again